ACS Local Section


 Awards Granted by the Philadelphia Section

An important part of the mission of the Philadelphia Section is to recognize the contributions made to our chemical community. For this reason, the we are proud to convey a number of awards.

2017 ACS Philadelphia Section Award

Dr. Kurt W. Kolasinski of West Chester University receives 2017 Philadelphia Section Award. Dr. Kolasinski is presented his award by Dr. Deborah Cook, Section Chair (left) and Dr. Elizabeth Wagoner, Section Awards Committee Chair (right).

2015 Teaching Awards

2015 Philadelphia Section Teaching Awards

Dr. Bill Smith, Section chair; Dr. Madhu Mahalingam, University of the Sciences, Undergraduate Teaching Award; Jeremy Wolf, Palisades High School, Pre-College Teaching Award; Dr. Rick Ewing, Section Awards Committee chair.

2014 Teaching Awards

William Smith and Amanda Grannas receiving their awards presented by Steve Fleming (right)

Congratulations to the Philadelphia Section Chair-Elect, William Smith.  He received the ACS Philadelphia Section Award for Excellence in Teaching Chemistry at the Pre-college Level (9-12).  Bill teaches at Bristol High School.  Congratulations also to Amanda Grannas of Villanova University who received the Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Chemical Sciences at the Undergraduate Level.  Both were presented with their awards at the May section meeting by section chair, Steve Fleming.

2013 George Washington Carver Award Winner

Tom Anderson presenting the award to Sharon Haynie. 

Article on Dr. Haynie appearing in The Carver Chronicle. 

Winners in the February Poster Session

Graduate Student Awards

GD 13 - Sarah Burke, Bryn Mawr College

GD 24 - Malela Werner, University of the Sciences

GD 29 - Sudipto Munshi & Robert Stanley, Temple University

GD 31 - Sara Martin, University of Delaware

GD 34 - Nutte Tarn Teraphongphom, Drexel University


Undergraduate Student Awards

Poster UG 11 - Kevin Blattner, Widener University

Poster UG 16 - Nikolai Kolba, Widener University

Poster UG 33 - Yichun Fu & Anna Kalinsky, Bryn Mawr College

Poster GD 14 - Zachary Hauseman & Carrie Carson, Temple University


High School Student Awards

Poster HS 4 - Nyla Numan, Indiana High School

Poster HS 6 - Aashna Mago, The Lawrenceville School


2012 George Washington Carver Award Winner

Tom Anderson presenting the award to Judy Summer-Gates.

Article on Ms. Summer-Gates appearing in The Carver Chronicle.